Sunshine Blogger Award

sunshine-blogger-award1

Oh my gosh! I got nominated for an award. First of all a huge THANK YOU to Rebekah from LIVETHESAN. Not only is your name almost spelled like my sister’s but your blog is really amazing with all it’s variable and simply-but-sophisticated recipes. If you have any time, please do go check it out, it’s definitely worth it (and please let me rant one time about her blog name because I love it. It has the vibe of “go with the flow” to me – sorry, this had to be said for a long time!).
One thing why I am so happy about this nomination is that I’ve been really stressed with exams etc. under which the blog has sort of suffered (hello diminished frequency of postings). Additionally, I’ve been doubting to continue, since I am starting a lot of (extra)curricular projects next semester, but wow, people are actually reading this and like what I am doing. Maybe I should start telling my friends I am doing this blog since they still don’t know? Anyways, enough of all these doubts, let’s get to the fun:

The Rules:award31 (1)

  • Thank & link the person who nominated you.
  • Answer the questions asked by them.
  • Nominate 10 bloggers.
  • Give your nominees 10 new questions to answer.

 

Thanking the nominator
Can’t be done enough – thanks so much Rebekah, you are amazing and your blog is too!

The questions

Spicy or non spicy?
Definitely spicy. I love Indian food (I mean, those curries…) And chinese food! And my mom’s spicy pumpkin soup. So yup, definitely spicy and yup, I definietly have to learn how to do it.

Where do you see your blog in 5 years?
Umm, honestly, I don’t know. I would love to keep going and make it a sort of database for easy and tasty student cooking but I guess I really need to work on many aspects (help is appreciated haha).

What is your favorite food?
Hard one. But it’s not cheating if I do it in food groups, right? Carbs: Pasta (because it’s so versatile) and couscous. Veggies: Carrots (I live off them). Fruit: Can’t chose, I love them all. Junkfood: Chocolate in any variety and cake. Oh and almonds just because!

What do you do when you aren’t blogging?
Obsess over other people’s amazing food blogs and google recipes? (normal people might laugh but I guess you guys get it). Otherwise sing in a gospel choir, play fieldhockey, run, being member of a student association (can be compared to european greek life), study organisation and soon of a charity bookstore. Oh yeah, and I study. A lot actually. And have dinners with friends. And bake. Too much! To feed to said friends.

What is your ideal weekend?
Not stressful. Getting up in the morning, feeling not tired, then go for a nice run. The weather is awesome, obviously, since this is the Netherlands (HA), then I can spend some time baking up something new while listening to my favorite songs and meet in the evening with some friends for a picknick dinner in the park (where everyone actually brought real food!). Then we watch the sunset together and look out for star signs. Sunday maybe some outdoor activities after church, a phone call home and some time spent with a good book on a blanket in the sun. Oh yeah and a trip to the sea would be nice!

How long do you spend time reading blogs?
Too long. Let’s just leave it like that!

What’s your favorite activity?
Sports and baking.

What is your favorite spice?
Cinnamon.

What is the most creative food that you have cooked using a fruit?
Orange pudding. Like custard but only orange juice, eggs and cornstarch (I don’t remember that well). Actually it was good. Weird, but good.

What’s your motivation for blogging?
It’s fun and motivates me to try out new things. Plus I hope that at least someone will find it useful

My 10 nominees (drumroll please)
1. Isa from Isaskitchen
2. Aarthi from Yummy Tummy
3. Taylor from Peas Romaine Calm
4. Raquel from Cau de Sucre
5. Ines from My tiny green kitchen
6. Roxanne from The Lemon and Jar
7. Laura from Baking in Pyjamas
8. Ronit from Tasty Eats
9. Darly from Darlydarly
10. Freda from Aromatic Essence

And here are my questions to you guys
1. What is the best dish someone has ever made for you?
2. Sweet or Salty?
3. If you had one last thing to tell the world, what would it be?
4. What is your guilty pleasure?
5. What do you do when you are not blogging?
6. How did you become a foodie?
7. What is the most valuable lesson you’ve learnt during your bloggin time?
8. What is your worst cooking/baking accident ever?
9. What’s your favorite thing you’ve ever made?
10. How do you motivate yourself to keep going?

Pass on the sunshine and with love from the student kitchen,
Johanna

6 thoughts on “Sunshine Blogger Award

  1. Thank you for the shoutout and praises! ❤ I love your blog so much and you definitely deserve to be nominated! Sometimes I do feel that nobody is reading my posts etc. but I keep telling myself to keep writing and tracking what I cook! So when I look back few years later I would have a whole log of recipes. Hehe. Don't every give up writing! All the best with your next sem 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you Rebekah. Yes, that was one of the reasons too, that I just should keep going for myself to have a recipe collection. I am parallelly writing out everything that works on flashcards (my mom has a whole box and for her that works really well, I am not sure how it is for me) and I am really really trying to get ahold of my great-grandmother’s cookbook. Will try hunting it down during the vacation.
      Have a nice summer! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What a lovely nomination and great read! You should definitely tell your friends about your blog – it’s amazing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

