Sweet Chai Oats

P1060946_lznIt’s finals time. Woe-hoe. Honestly, I am pretty proud of myself because I am studying and working hard and doing all that stuff I am supposed to do (and I don’t even really dare writing this down because as soon as I say something like that stuff comes crashing down). In finals time, breakfast is especially important. It needs to be quick, nourishing (the brain uses up 20% of our calorie intake) and should taste good (motivation to start the day anyone?). So how about some chai oats to (literally) spice up your morning routine?

Although the Chai-Latte craze has kind of faded (same for bubble tea by the way, I’ve never had one during the time it was basically hyped all over the world and now they found out that it’s pretty unhealthy anyways) a cup of spiced black tea sometimes warms your throat and heart like nothing else can. Except for chocolate. Jup, nothing compares to chocolate.

P1060935_lzn

Now, if you want to do it quick, there is no time to mix all the spices yourself (although it’s a project I definitely want to do soon), but luckily there are Chai tea teabags readily available at the store. I got a package quite some time ago for around 1,50 Euros so I figured I might as well make some chai oats with it to . Mine is sweet chai (how they make it sweet, I don’t know), so in case yours isn’t you might want to add some sugar.

P1060941_lznSimply bring the milk to a boil, hang in your teabag(s), turn down the heat until it’s only simmering a little and let the milk infuse with chai for 4-5 minutes. Stir in your oats, wait till all the moisture is gone and tadaa, you’re done. You could totally add some raisins for extra pretty-ness!

P1060944_lzn
I did make this recipe with oat milk, since I was out of soy milk, so please do let me know if you make it with dairy, I am really curious if that works as well!

How do you spice up your morning routine?
Greetings from the student kitchen,
Johanna

Sweet Chai Oats

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 10 minutes
  • Print

This is what you need
350 ml (1.5 cups) milk
1-2 chai teabags (I think if you let it simmer a bit longer 1 bag would also be fine!)
60 g (1/2 cup) quick oats
optional: sugar

And this is how we do it
1. Bring the milk to a boil, if using dairy watch out it doesn’t stick to the pot
2. Hang in your teabags, turn down the heat and let slightly simmer for 5 minutes
3. Stir in your oats and wait till all the liquid has been soaked up keep stirring occasionally so it doesn’t burn.
4. If not using Sweet Chai, you may add some sugar. Enjoy hot!

The oatmeal keeps in the fridge in an airtight container for a few days probably (depending on what kind of milk you’re using), so you could totally make double, refrigerate the rest and heat it up in the microwave the next morning. You might want to add a little extra milk before microwaving because the oats do soak up quite a bit.

This is my own recipe. Please do not use it commercially without my permission. When using it on your blog, please re-write it in your own words and link it to the source to give proper credit:). Thanks!

2 thoughts on “Sweet Chai Oats

Leave a Reply

