Foolproof Celebratory Chocolate Cake

P1060708_lzn

Last friday we had a little tea party (one of my friends is English) to celebrate that we are officially on holidays for one whole week (woot woot, baking time). I said I’d bring chocolate cake, because my friend E has never tried this cake before (which I make all the time but she was never around). So why is it celebratory? It’s easy, requires a minimum amount of ingredients (chocolate, butter, sugar, eggs, flour), no mixer (big criterion for me since I still haven’t got one) and there is no way I think you can screw it up.Completely foolproof, I promise.

I’ve been making this recipe for 4 years and I never managed to make one where the dome isn’t cracked. Usually I just hide it (ganach or frosting, anyone), but there wasn’t enough time, so I guess this is the “ugly” version (let’s just call it shabby shic, ok?).

Sadly, there are no inside pictures, because it was devoured before I could take a second look. Luckily I made a big one, because more and more people kept arriving.
P1060712_lzn

You can make this cake in a 26 cm springform pan (ca. 9×2). If using a smaller one, reduce the amount of ingredients or increase baking time (since the cake will be thicker). For my 18 cm (6×2) I use only half of the recipe! And don’t overbake it, otherwise it will lose it’s brownie-like texture.

Foolproof Celebratory Chocolate Cake

  • Servings: 5 for chocolate lovers, 10 for normal people
  • Time: 60 minutes including baking time
  • Print
This is what you need
200g Butter (1 cup minus 1 tablespoon)
200g Chocolate (7 oz)
100 g Flour (about 1 cup)
300 g White sugar (1 + 1/4 cup)
6 Eggs
1/2 teaspoon salt
optional: 1 teaspoon coffee powder

You can make this cake in a 26 cm springform pan (ca. 9×2). If using a smaller one, reduce the amount of ingredients or increase baking time (since the cake will be thicker). For my 18 cm (6×2) I use only half of the recipe.

And this is how we do it
1. Preheat the oven to 170°C/350°F, grease your springform pan and dust with flour
2. Cut the chocolate into pieces to facilitate melting. Melt butter and chocolate together (either in a bain marie, if you have one, or just in the microwave i 1 minute intervals), stir them with a fork until you have a creamy liquid
3. In the mixing bowl, mix sugar, and eggs until well incorporated (you can do this with a fork or whisk), then whisk in the flour and the salt.
4. Slowly pour in the chocolate and whisk into the mixture
5. Fill into your prepared springform pan and bang the pan onto the counter a few times (this will release air bubbles and prevent the cake from having a huge dome and cracking even more)
6. Bake 35-40 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out  clean (a few moist crumbs are ok). And don’t overbake it, otherwise it will lose it’s brownie-like texture.
7. Either let cool completely and cover with ganache or enjoy plain (awesome when slightly warm, but after a day the flavor intensifies).

Cake can be kept in  an airtight container at room temperature for 1 day and in the fridge for about 4 days (if it lasts that long).

7 thoughts on “Foolproof Celebratory Chocolate Cake

Leave a Reply

