Easy mediterranean pasta salad

IMG_20160403_170944_lzn

Pasta salad is always a great option for those occasions where you have to feed a crowd but don’t have enough pans to keep all that food hot at the same time. Or for picknicks in spring (since salad is a spring food, right?). The combination of feta cheese, tomato and rucola is a classic (contradict me if I am wrong) and the pasta gets to sit in the  vinaigrette over night which ensures for even more flavour. Plus, it looks so colorful. And Pasta is a cheap thing…
I made the pasta the night before I was having a dinner for 8 people (the task of cooking got dumped on me last minute but since no one else was willing to do it I said I would just make something easy which wouldn’t conflict too much with exam preparation) and is just a side dish. Of course you can also have it as a main dish or on a salad buffet.  My mom makes it with some black olives added into the mix, but since I didn’t know how picky my eaters were I chose to omit them.

The thing I really like about (most) pasta salads is that they’re so easy and stress-free to make and keep pretty well in the fridge. This takes minimal effort on the day of the dinner itself (15 min. max) and most time is consumed by the time the pasta needs to cook. You can cut up all the ingredients and then just mix them together an hour before the event (in order to let the whole thing marinate properly, if I may use that word here). Since Rucola is pretty indestructible (for a salad) and doesn’t get soggy as fast as others, you can also keep it in the fridge till the next morning and have leftovers for lunch (although if you’re planning on doing so I’d advise you to refridgerate a portion without rucola and then add it fresh the next morning. And with the veggies and the cheese we can even say it’s healthy, right. What can you want more?

IMG_20160403_171026_lzn

How do you reduce your stress when serving many people?

Greetings from the student kitchen,
Johanna

Easy mediterranean pasta salad

  • Servings: 6 as a side dish
  • Time: 30 minutes and let the pasta rest overnight
  • Print

This is what you need  Title60605023
350 g uncooked Pasta (maccheroni or other small pasta)
1 package (250 g) Feta cheese
1 package (300 g) Cherry tomatoes
1 small package (200 g) Rucola
4 tablespoons olive oil
8 tablespoons dark vinegar (I used balsamico)
1/2 teaspoon mustard
salt and pepper

And this is how we do it
1. The night before: cook the pasta according to the package instructions
2. while it’s cooking: throughoutly mix oil, vinegar, mustard in a bowl with a fork (this is the vinaigrette). Add a sprinkle of salt and a dash of pepper
3. When the pasta is done: drain and rinse it with cold water shortly to stop the cooking process. Verse them into a bowl and cover with 5 tablespoons vinaigrette. Stir throughoutly. Cover the bowl and let it marinate in the fridge overnight
4. 1.5 hrs before serving: Wash and drain the rucola
5. Cut tomatoes into quarters and the feta cheese into small cubes. Tear the drained rucola apart into smaller pieces (I tried to tear it in half or even 3 pieces).
6. Mix the cut/teared ingredients into the pasta.
8.Stir 3 tablespoons vinaigrette (you have to re-mix with a fork beforehand, since oil and vinegar tend to not stay emulgated very long). You’ll have some left over but don’t worry, it keeps for quite a long time
7. Try it (if it needs more vinaigrette, you can add some more).

This is my own recipe. Please do not use it commercially without my permission. When using it on your blog, please re-write it in your own words and link it to the source to give proper credit:). Thanks!

 

5 thoughts on “Easy mediterranean pasta salad

    • Thank you. This recipe always reminds me of summer (although I have never been to Grece or Italy in summer). As for the cooking, I have exactly the same. I am happy as long as everyone sits down, talks, enjoys themselves and eats the food, but I need to make it myself.

      Like

Leave a Reply

